Sign up to have one of our team of experts contact you
Register Now »

IABFLO Conference 2016, Re-cap

This year’s IABFLO conference, held at the Wyndham Philadelphia in historic downtown from April 19-22, was a great success. A shout out to President Michelle Jack of Utah, Richard Selegue of Ohio, and Kay Harris of North Carolina for all their hard work in organizing this conference.

We were happy to see that Pennsylvania has rejoined IABFLO and that the City of Detroit sent their bedding program administrator, Lisa Clark Jones.

This year Ikea was kind enough to give us a tour of their DC unit in New Jersey; an impressive example of warehouse management and technology on a massive scale.
This was followed by a fabulous industry dinner, courtesy of DuPont and Print Craft at Pietro’s Italian Restaurant and was greatly appreciated by all.

We spoke with a number of conference attendees, including Speakers Kathy Manderino, Secretary of the Pennsylvania Department of Labor & Industry, Joe Mohorivic of ISPA, Dr. Pratik Ichhaporia of Intertek, Dr Heather Stapleton of Duke University, Joanne Mattiace of the Law Offices of Joanne Mattiace, Wilf Lieber of IDFL, Ryan Trainer of ISPA and Christina Slaybaugh of Pennsylvania. Copies of their presentations will soon be available on the IABFLO website for members.

During the round-table we heard from some State Regulators of upcoming changes. These included the following:

California: expect to see the license fees go up, possibly as soon as October of this year. The proposed fees will be as follows:

Bureau’s current and proposed fee for each license type.

Section 1107(a) Subsections and License Type    Current Fee    Proposed Fee
Importer’s License $650 $750
Furniture and Bedding Manufacturer’s License $650 $750
Wholesale Furniture and Bedding Dealer’s License $540 $625
Supply Dealer’s License $540 $625
Custom Upholsterer’s License $360 $420
Sanitizer’s License $360 $420
Retail Furniture Dealer’s License $120 $140
Retail Bedding Dealer’s License $120 $140
Retail Furniture and Bedding Dealer’s License $240 $280


Additionally in 2017 they will develop a rule making packet to update the law label and the terminology in their classification of filling materials. Prior to the formal rule making proceeding, California officials have indicated a willingness to receive and consider written comments regarding possible future action.

If you wish to receive updates on this matter and other Bureau activities please subscribe to their LISTSERV.

Lastly California mentioned that now that TB117-113 SB1019 has been instituted for a period of time you can expect to see more inspections looking specifically for compliance with this flammability regulation.

Connecticut: is now inspecting secondhand dealers and they are starting to issue major financial fines against dealers for not sanitizing properly. They also warned that if these corrections are not addressed then the company who does not comply stands to lose their Secondhand Dealers License and will be unable to operate their store without one.

Detroit MI: The bedding program coordinator, Lisa Clark Jones joined IABFLO this year. Detroit is planning on ramping up their program so you can expect to see change including more enforcement in the year to come.

North Carolina: Kay Harris spoke about the licensing backlog, dealing with employee absence, and how they have been working on getting these licenses out.

Ohio: Richard Selegue and Derrick Hubner informed us that Ohio has bought new pieces of equipment, including a new Thermo Scientific Nicolet FT-IR and also a new compound microscope. This will be a significant assistance in being more efficient and hopefully move samples through more effectively.

Pennsylvania. Spoke of how AP has rejoined IABFLO and how they will review their regulation in the coming months in terms of requirements for variances.

Utah: UT State legislature has approved a Sterilization Permit requirement for clothing and bedding. Currently this is in the documentation process for rules/guidelines and may be effective in 2017.

 The 2017 IABFLO conference is scheduled in Newport, Rhode Island from April 26-27.


Mattress Manufacturers! Requirement in CT

Mattress manufacturers  will be required to  register with the Mattress Recycling Council (MRC)  by July 1, 2014. In May 2013, Connecticut enacted Public Act 13-42, which requires the mattress industry to establish a mattress recycling program in the state.

Public Act 13-42, requires all mattress and mattress foundation producers, renovators and importers selling or distributing mattresses in Connecticut to join MRC by July 1, 2014. To join MRC, you must register with the organization at There is no cost to join and registration information will only be used by MRC and the state to determine compliance with the requirements of the law.

For further information see Public Act 13-42 which, in part, states:

Sec. 1 (8)”Mattress” means any resilient material or combination of materials that is enclosed by a ticking, that is used alone or in combination with other products, and that is intended for or promoted for sleeping upon. “Mattress” includes any foundation, renovated foundation or renovated mattress. “Mattress” does not include any of the following: (A) An unattached mattress pad, an unattached mattress topper, including any item with resilient filling, with our without ticking, that is intended to be used with or on top of a mattress, (B) a sleeping bag or pillow, (C) a car bed, (D) juvenile products, including a carriage, basket, dressing table, stroller, playpen, infant carrier, lounge pad, crib bumper and any pad for such juvenile product, (E) a product that contains liquid or gaseous filled ticking, including any water bed or any air mattress that does not contain upholstery material between the ticking and the mattress core, or (F) any upholstered furniture that does not otherwise contain a detachable mattress, including, but not limited, to a fold-out sofa bed or a futon;

Sec. 1 (15) “Producer” means any person who manufactures or renovates a mattress that is sold, offered for sale or distributed in the state under the producer’s own name or brand. “Producer” includes (A) the owner of a trademark or brand under which a mattress is sold, offered for sale or distributed in this state, whether or not such trademark or brand is registered in this state, and (B) any person who imports a mattress into the United States that is sold or offered for sale in this state and that is manufactured or renovated by a person who does not have a presence in the United States;

Sec. 2. (a) On or before July 1, 2014, each producer, or such producer’s designee, shall join the mattress recycling council and by said date such council shall submit a plan, for the Commissioner of Energy and Environmental Protection’s approval, to establish a state-wide mattress stewardship program, as described in this subsection.

Sec. 2. (if) …Any producer who fails to participate in such program shall not sell mattresses in this state.